“…if you want to feel what it is like to be human again, you should hunt, even if just once” – Georgia Pellegrini in Girl Hunter.
If you have never hunted before, but think you might want to do so, now is a great time to take a Hunter Education Course. If you plan on hunting in Texas, and you were born on or after September 2nd, 1971, you are required to take Hunter Ed, unless you want to be accompanied by a “responsible adult” every time you go out. And this is a good thing. I’ve seen the difference a Hunter Education course makes in the ethics of new hunters, as well as in their understanding of the State hunting laws.
According to the Texas Parks and Wildlife website, a Hunter Ed course “…provides instruction in Texas hunting regulations, wildlife management and identification, conservation, ethics, firearm and hunting safety and responsibility, and outdoor skills.” And with the course costing only $15 for 14 hours of instruction, it’s a bargain!
Check with your State parks and wildlife department for a listing of courses in your area – but here’s something else to consider for those who feel they might not be able to “kill Bambi” – go with a hunter and just enjoy being in nature. I’ve sat in a blind with my youngest son many times, completely silent, waiting and watching for his deer to come into view.
During the wait, I was priviledged to view a hidden world as it took place without interference from humankind. While experiencing the excitement of someone else’s hunt, I had plenty of time to take beautiful pictures and relax in the peace of a silent wood.
You can read about my son’s first hunting trip by CLICKING HERE.
Enjoying these experiences and wanting to encourage others to get out there and hunt has caused me to take steps to become a Hunter Education Instructor myself, and I hope to be leading a women-only hunt this fall. So even if you are in the age range that isn’t required to take Hunter Ed, why not do it anyway? Take advantage of the off season and learn more about hunting in your home state.