I love to clean…my gun!

Ladies, do you clean your gun(s)?  No, I don’t mean, does your husband, son, boyfriend…clean them for you.  If you shoot, and you should, then you need to learn to clean the firearms.

“If ya shoot ’em, ya gotta clean ’em,” is one of my mottos – trust me, I have many :0)

And do we even need to discuss the fact that something that contains gunpowder and lead, and that EXPLODES in the barrel, even needs to be cleaned?? (big eye roll)

I know, I know, one more thing to scrub, right?  But cleaning your gun is much different than cleaning your toilet.  There is no better way to become truly comfortable with every aspect of your firearm, to know it literally inside and out, than to break it down and clean it.  (Nobody needs to get to know a toilet :/)

So here are the reasons, in a nutshell, that I think it’s important:

1.  You become very adept at field strip and reassembly of the gun, which could be very important should you ever have a problem during use and have to strip it, fix it, and reassemble it in short order.

2.  You know without a doubt that the firearm is clean and in working order.

3.  It helps you take ownership of the gun.  Some women shoot guns belonging to others, which is fine, but then they walk away and forget about it until they shoot again.  Even if it isn’t your gun, take ownership and responsibility of it.

4.  For the new gun owner/user, the firearm will be much less intimidating if you see it in pieces on your kitchen table.  I’ve seen ladies who were really afraid of “weapons” completely change their mind after holding just the little round barrel in their hands.  Things are not as frightening when you know them inside and out.

One of the best ways to learn to clean your gun is from someone else who knows and who will take the time to show you, step by step.  Many ranges are now hosting gun-cleaning clinics, some especially for women like the ones I hold, and that can be a fun, social time, as well.  When I’m in a room full of women cleaning their guns and talking, laughing, and having a great time, I usually say the gun-cleaning circles of today have replaced the quilting groups of old :0)

But if you don’t have someone to show you, or a clinic to attend, just go online to Youtube, search for “field strip” or “take down,” “break down” of whatever gun you have, and I can assure you someone has a video on it.  That’s how I learned to break down one of my new handguns.

So don’t stress over it, get with some other girls and make it fun, leave a window open so you don’t all get high on the solvent :0) but remember, “A clean gun is a happy gun” (another one of my mottos).

** CAUTION:  NEVER, EVER, EVER EVEN ATTEMPT TO CLEAN A FIREARM IF YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING, DON’T HAVE SOMEONE WITH YOU THAT DOES, AND UNTIL YOU HAVE, PERSONALLY, CLEARED THE GUN AND MADE SURE IT IS UNLOADED.  ABOVE ALL, STAY SAFE!

3 responses to “I love to clean…my gun!

  1. Great advice. Couple adds if you don’t mind, ALWAYS wear your eye protection and latex glovesore. Bore cleaner is a harsh solvent and when you are running a brush through, it splatters! Also, another great source of information is that little book that often gets tucked under the pad…the Owner’s Manual. It give you step by step how to break down your gun, cleaning information and perhaps more importantly, oil instructions…where, how much…Every gun needs oil to function correctly, but too little and it can lock up, too much and it will pull in every speck of dust and particulate in the air and foul faster.

    I love cleaning my guns, I find it relaxing, and I like not relying on anyone else, it is like packing your own parachute. You KNOW it is clean, and it is very helpful in getting an idea how the inside works.

Leave a Reply

